StudyDeck

Break-even Charts

Exam code: 7115
Written by: Ashika|Reviewed by: Caroline Carroll|Updated 2 July 2026

An Introduction to Break-even

An introduction to break-even

  • Break-even analysis is a financial tool used to determine the number of units a business must sell to reach the point where the business revenue equals its expenses (no profit nor loss)

    • It helps businesses understand the minimum level of sales or output they need to achieve in order to cover all costs

    • This helps business managers to make informed decisions about pricing and production volumes

  • The break-even point is the number of units that need to be sold for total costs to equal the sales revenue

The elements of a break-even analysis

Three interlocking hexagons labelled "Fixed Costs", "Variable Costs", and "Revenue" in blue, beige, and pink respectively.
Variable costs, fixed costs and sales revenue are all used in calculating the break-even point
  • Fixed costs are costs that do not change regardless of the level of production or sales

    • E.g. rent, salaries and insurance

  • Variable costs are costs that vary with the level of production or sales

    • E.g. raw materials, direct labour costs, packaging and shipping costs

  • Sales revenue is the money gained from selling products/service and is calculated as follows:

    • Sales revenue = number of items sold x selling price

Constructing a Break-even Chart

Constructing a break-even chart

  • Break-even charts are graphs which identify the number of units a business must sell in order to break-even

    • The break-even point occurs when the total cost = total revenue

    • The break even point is the number of units that have to be sold for the total cost to equal the total revenue

  • In order to construct a break-even chart, the business needs to know the estimated fixed costs, variable costs and sales revenue

Interpreting a Break-even Chart

Interpreting a break-even chart

  • A break even chart is a visual representation of the break-even point and is used to identify several key metrics

    • The break-even point

    • The margin of safety

    • The expected profit or loss 

A break-even chart

Break-even chart showing fixed costs, total costs, and revenue lines against monthly van rentals. Indicates break-even point and margin of safety.
The break-even chart for A2B Limited shows that at 324 units the total revenue = the total costs

Diagram analysis 

  • Fixed costs:

    • Fixed costs do not change as output increases

      • A2B's fixed costs are £8,000 and these do not change whether the business produces 0 units or 500 units

  • Total costs:

    • Total costs are made up of fixed and variable costs

      • At 0 units of output, they are made up exclusively of fixed costs

      • At 500 units the total variable costs equate to £11,800

      • This line slopes upwards because total variable costs increase as output increases

  • Sales revenue:

    • The revenue line also slopes upwards

      • At 0 units of output, the revenue is £0

      • At 500 units the total revenue equates to £11,800

      • Revenue will increase with the output

      • The line will slope more steeply than the total costs and will cross the total costs line at some point

  • Break-even point:

    • The point at which the total costs and the revenue lines cross is the break even point

      • The break even level of output for A2B is 324 units

  • Margin of safety:

    • The margin of safety can be identified as the difference on the x-axis between the actual level of output (in this case 450 units) and the break even point (300 units). The margin of safety is 150 units

  • Profit:

    • The profit made at a specific level of output can be identified as the space between the revenue and total costs lines

      • In this instance, the profit made at 450 units of output is £14,400 - £11,250 = £3,150